Original Fake KAWS Stormtrooper Release

Original Fake Store sign at 2am.

Original Fake Store sign at 2am.

That’s right.  I lined up.  For 7 hours to buy a toy!

Saturday September 27th, starting at 9am, the Original Fake store in Aoyama sold the StarWars Figure Stormtrooper KAWS version.

KAWS Version Stormtrooper.  The noticeable X's make this a true KAWS

KAWS Version Stormtrooper. The noticeable X's make this a true KAWS figure. 18,000yen

You can read some hype about it here.

I got there at just around 1:30am and to my surprise there was 1 person in line!
I was 2nd in line!

It was dark and sitting on the hard concrete was no fun, but I didnt know what I was getting into when the guy 1st in line was telling that over 1000 people showed up last year for the Darth Vader KAWS version – wow.  Seeing that it was just him and me sitting there at 2am, I wonder if anyone would actually show up.   And yes, yes people showed up.

After swapping spots to head to the convenience store to buy snacks and some fuel for our stomachs, we played some nintendo ds and chatted about nike and other cool trends in tokyo.

The morning came and I took this video at 5:45 am.

Later, in the morning over 1000 people showed up to wait in line to buy the super-duper limited edition toy.

Lined up outside Original Fake shop.  6am.

Lined up outside Original Fake shop. 6am.

30 am. 30 mins before the shop opens.  The line was at least 300 metres long.

The line-up at 8:30 am. 30 mins before the shop opens. The line was at least 300 metres long. Into the distance...

Original Fake KAWS Stormtrooper purchase ticket.  Fixed Gear in the back.   After lining up for 7 hours they give you a ticket to come back to the shop at a pre-determined time to buy it.  It is chosen at random by lottery.

Original Fake KAWS Stormtrooper purchase ticket. Fixed Gear in the back. After lining up for 7 hours they give you a ticket to come back to the shop at a pre-determined time to buy it. It is chosen at random by lottery.

20am

GP with the first three. We were 1, 3 and 2 in line. Dedication. This is at 8:20am.

Finally, back at the shop at 12pm, to buy my toy.  Here is the entrance to the Original fake shop!

About to purchase, then this big KAWS toy greats you!  Original Fake Shop Entrance Tokyo

About to purchase, then this big KAWS toy greats you! Original Fake Shop Entrance Tokyo. This is about 10 ft tall!

People buying their KAWS version stormtrooper at Original Fake shop in Tokyo.

People buying their KAWS version stormtrooper at Original Fake shop in Tokyo.

Now, I havent opened it yet!  Just glad that its over and I can sleep.

Oh, while waiting in the morning, I went to peek-a-boo hair salon and got my haircut and an unbelievable head massage from the cutest Japanese girl.

Check out their Site here

My homie Naito works there and always gives me half price.  I only paid 3000 yen!

~ by gabuchan on September 29, 2008.

5 Responses to “Original Fake KAWS Stormtrooper Release”

  1. Nice work my man! I made a post about you on my blog as well, gonna blow you up son!

  2. thanks abrams!

  3. Hey I’m thinking of buying one soon. I already know how much I’m going to be paying ( T_T ), but what was the actual retail price?

  4. badguy009,
    The retail was 18000 yen. They are sold out, so you gotta check online auctions for them. good luck.

  5. [...] at the original fake store in Aoyama.  I wrote about the star wars stormtrooper toy release here. gp peeping on the side here. traffic light. near yotsuya. The design on her bag is her own. hip [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

