Happy Boxing Day

Interestingly, the myth behind Boxing day is not concretly known.  I checked over at Wikipedia and found some interesting theories all related to “boxes” of some sort, thus the name, but no real conclusions for why it is celebrated.  Either way, in Japan, it is not a holiday!
On this day, I took the liberty to head out in the pouring rain after work to he southern terrace of Shinjuku Station.  Recently on the terrace a Krispy Kreme Donuts opened up with wait lines of up to 1 hour.  I figured in the downpour that the Japanese would succumb to the rain and not go for donuts, but the Japanese love to line up and this evening the line up was around 45 mins long according to the security guard that was there.
My stomach was patient enough to allow me to head home without waiting. Until next time then, Mr. Krispy Kreme!  donut.jpg

Enjoy your boxing day.  I invite comments!  Thanks for reading as always,

Gabriel southern-lights-12-26.JPGca330005.JPGca330004.JPG

~ by gabuchan on December 26, 2006.

2 Responses to “Happy Boxing Day”

  1. Merry Christmas and Happy Boxing Day Gabriel!! The lights in Tokyo are beautiful and stunning. It must be quite a sight to see them all as you walk or bike home through the busy streets. Are there temples in Tokyo? Do they have special ceremonies over the season? Wish I could be there to enjoy it with you. Maybe next year… Love Mom

  2. […] and his family (thanks Shun for introducing me to Japanese life!) but all I wrote about was Boxing Day in Japan. So what did I do this year – Gabriel Pliska relaxed in the Japanese countryside. I ate special […]

Leave a Reply

 
