Travel Ad

Today in Kochi prefecture Japan a All Nippon Airways (ANA) plane landed safely without the front landing gear – no one was injured in the emergency landing. The plane was on its way from Osaka.
I am writing this entry because I want to show you a neat and clever Japanese ad that I found in Shinjuku station about 2 weeks ago. After todays incident I thought back on this picture and wanted to share it with you. I love the campaign going on at the moment for ANA (the company involved in the incident) and particularly love this advertisement:

070220_18200001.jpg

The copy of the ad can be translated as:
“If Japan was an overseas country, it would probably be one of the countries you’d want to go to.”

The ad campaign was to boost national tourism. I hope today’s crash in Kochi won’t have any negative impact on the clever copy in this ad.

More ads to come. I am addicted to Japanese ads.
Here would be my copy for an ad of similar nature: “Take a trip to a place you have never been, Japan”
GP

~ by gabuchan on March 14, 2007.

2 Responses to “Travel Ad”

  1. Wouldn’t that translate as “would be one of the countries you’d want to go to”, not the only.

  2. Ken Y-N. You have found a fault in my 1.8 year old Japanese mind. Thanks for that. Hitotsu would be “one” and not “the only one.”
    Thank you.
    Gab

Leave a Reply

 
