Snowboarding in Japan

There are several spots to snowboard in Japan. Since I live in Tokyo, I usually (4 times this year) go to Niigata and Nagano.
I have been snowboading in Hyogo, Hiroshima, Gifu, Niigata and Nagano.
My favourite spot is Hakuba 47.
As you may know the 1998 Winter Olympic Games were held in Nagano Japan, so some runs are olympic!
To get there you can take an overnight bus, or take the early shinkansen (bullet train) to get to the slopes.
Lift passes range from about 4000-5000 Yen per day.
Here is a pic of me on the slopes 3 weeks ago.
Beautiful view, but nothing like the Canadian rockies.
snowboarding
I also recently broke my shoulder bone, and am recovering now. The position of the break doesnt require me to have a cast, but I am wearing a sling as I type this.

~ by gabuchan on February 26, 2008.

2 Responses to “Snowboarding in Japan”

  1. Looks like a lot of fun! In all my time in Japan I have not escaped to the mountains for skiing or snowboarding even once. I’m embarrassed now…

    I hope your shoulder recovers quickly!

  2. Bryan,
    Thanks for the comment. My shoulder is fine and getting better. You gotta get out there. There are tours and day trips to places not far from tokyo. Get out and enjoy !

Leave a Reply

 
