Japanese New Year 2007

Here is a video that sums up my New Year 2007 spent in Saitama, Japan.
Last year I also spent time in Saitama with a Shuntaro and his family (thanks Shun for introducing me to Japanese life!) but all I wrote about was Boxing Day in Japan.
So what did I do this year – Gabriel Pliska relaxed in the Japanese countryside. I ate special Japanese food at new years as traditional style.
Japan New year is time to spend with your family and visit the temple for the first time of the year – hatsumoude. Parties do happen, but that is reserved for the Tokyo’s and Osaka’s and young folk. Most people return to their hometowns and visit with grandparents, parents, relatives etc.

Here is a video of my days in Saitama over New Year’s.

Thanks for watching. How is New Year’s celebrated in your country?

~ by gabuchan on February 27, 2008.

3 Responses to “Japanese New Year 2007”

  1. Cool post!, brother

  2. Reannongb,
    Thanks for the comment.

  3. i do also spent my new year in japan its so simple and the place was so quiet but i like japan so much.

Leave a Reply

 
