Climbing Mt. Fuji, Japan, Fixed-gear Bikes

Cloudy day today in Tokyo.

This Friday night.

I’m gonna climb Mt Fuji.

.

.

Again. Last time, there was a Typhoon on top of the mountain – so I got no viewing pleasure. and my brother puked.

I want…
.
Revenge.

Plan to climb this time with roommate Jon, Mark, Maria too.

How to:
Take a bus from West Exit shinjuku Station (ticket office is right in front of the Yodobashi Camera. The bus is 2600 yen (one way) and takes 2.5 hours and drops you off at the 5th station (basically halfway up the mountain). The climb takes 4-6 hours depending how awesome you are.
.

I hope I feel like this after climbing:

take flight!

take flight!

.

.

thoughts:

-Watched The Pursuit of Happyness yesterday (part on my video ipod, then later on my comp) . I liked it and made me feel all warm inside. Hustlers spirit.
-Biked like a madman to work today covered 7km (distance from Sasazuka to Yotsuya) in 18 mins. That is with traffic lights. It makes me feel great getting the exercise!
-Planning out my trip to Ottawa this summer – looking at tickets too.

-Attended a very small fixed-gear or fixie flea market or furi-ma- in Shin-Okubo aka Korean Town just north of Shinjuku on Sunday July 5, 2008.
Here are some pics of pics parked there.

a lot of stickers on this gold cruiser
stickers on this gold cruiser. Tokyo July 6th, 2008

tricked out handle bars on this blue fixie.

tricked out handle bars - blue fixie, Tokyo, July 6, 2008.

locked in love fixies, Tokyo, July 6th, 2008

locked in love fixies, Tokyo, July 6th, 2008

-I recently moved to the 2nd floor in my house – now I am living on tatami flooring.

Attended a crazy latern festival with about 250,000 people on Saturday night .
Take a look at the laterns hanging in the street.

lantern festival in hiratsuka, July 5th, 2008

lantern festival in hiratsuka, July 5th, 2008

It was in Hiratsuka 平塚.

Take care

~ by gabuchan on July 8, 2008.

4 Responses to “Climbing Mt. Fuji, Japan, Fixed-gear Bikes”

  1. I stumbled across your page while searching for news for the opening of the Fuji climbing season this year. I visited Hiratsuka this past weekend on the 6th and and climbing up Mount Fuji this coming Saturday night. Best of luck to both of us!

  2. Naoki,
    Thanks for your comment!
    Wow – you went to Hiratsuka, AND you are going to climb Fuji?! We’ve got the same hobbies!
    Best of luck!

  3. […] also wrote about Tokyo Fixed Gear bikes in another article. Shibuya. August 2008. Fixed gears locked together in love.Fuji Track Bike. […]

  4. […] also wrote about Tokyo Fixed Gear bikes in another article. Shibuya. August 2008. Fixed gears locked together in love.Fuji Track Bike. […]

Leave a Reply

 
