Weekend in Tokyo, pictures.

Today is Partly cloudy, but a hot day out in Tokyo.
We are all in the office trying not to go outside.  It is a hot one!

.
,
.
JD, I hope you had a fun time at the beach this past weekend.

/
.
Monday July 21st, was a national holiday – had the day off.

chuo line on the left, sobu line on the right

Ochanomizu Station. On my way to Akiba. Chuo line on the left, Sobu line on the right

prada phone at Yodobashi Camera in Akiba. Touch panel -no its not an iphone.

they encourage you to try out the massage chairs - i couldnt resist!

they encourage you to try out the massage chairs - i couldnt resist!

The above pic is me in a massage chair at Yodobashi Camera.  While my gf was shopping for light bulbs, I took a rest here.  This chair is 5000$.  The staff suggest a 15 minute time limit per use to allow other customers to try out the chairs.  This chair is incredible.  I didnt count the massage hands, but I could remember having every inch of my body massaged. the flaps you see at my shoulder squeeze in and apply pressure while spoonful sized massage “hands” rub and massage your back, neck, toes, thighs, buttocks.   I have been to a real massage place in Japan and I can honestly say that this chair is better!

freddy is BIG - the worlds biggest TV in yodobashi camera. Akiba, Japan.

freddy is BIG - the worlds biggest TV in yodobashi camera. Akiba, Japan.

Sunday July 20, 2008. Yokohama Fireworks Festival

Sunday July 20, 2008. Yokohama Fireworks Festival

Fireworks were sensational, two bottles of champagne were had, and it was awesome. This photo is taken with my cell phone – so nice.
Me, Jon, Megu, and Rebecca (friend of jon who used to live in our housing group) all walked through the crowds of people that were sitting down with their blue tarp mats with space reserved.  We walked through hundreds of people and sat are buts down on an open mat.  – whos mat?  We dont know, but no one said anything and we enjoyed the show!!  Estimated like 200,000 people were there, maybe more. I didnt count.

Yokohama, Chinatown.  After the fireworks. July 20, 2008.

Yokohama, Chinatown. After the fireworks. July 20, 2008.

Sony Aquarium, Ginza Japan.  Outside the Sony Building, Ginza Crossing, - an aquarium

Sony Aquarium, Ginza Japan. Promotion outside the Sony Building, Ginza Crossing, - an aquarium

Thoughts:

I have been listening to the Four hour work week via audio book the last couple of days.  I have listened to half of it before, and am re-listening to it.  It is very good and motivational.
.
.
Eating tons of fruits and vegetables these days.  It is delicious.  White rice is on hold for a while.
.
.
Thinking about getting an iPhone – just cause its awesome and would combine my ipod and celly.  BUT my current phone still has a lot of better features than the iphone – just no “ah, wow!” novelty of a touch screen.
.
.
.

In the process of working my Japanese resume and have completed my english resume (updated).
.
.
Wieden+Kennedy Tokyo is hiring – but I am hesitant to apply because I am afraid if I am “ready for it” or of what will happen. When in reality, nothing bad could happen and I should DO IT.  Fear is just a word.
But then I thought – what would change ?  Do I want to work for the fame or the fortune.  I can have both – just its a matter of really digging deep inside myself to find out “how”, or better yet, the “when.”
..
.

.
Also been watching “sex and the city” dvds with my gf, but mostly been sitting there playing nintendo ds, while she watches.  Game of the moment, skateboarding.

Talk soon.

Thanks for reading.

~ by gabuchan on July 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
