McDonald’s Japan

I was out and about in Hikarigaoka two weeks ago, and took this photo of McDonald’s Drive Thru.
The temperature that day was about 33 Celcius and humid.  So I think everyone was getting 100 yen ice cream.

McDonald's Drive thru in Hikarigaoka. North East Tokyo.

McDonald's Drive thru in Hikarigaoka. North East Tokyo.

Several staff members (all girls – perhaps coincidence, perhaps good business practice) were actually standing outside taking orders to make the drive thru queue run more efficiently.  Gotta love that!
They would then walkie-talkie the order inside.  The bill was then paid once the food was received at the food window.

McDonald’s Japan menu can be here.
I haven’t eaten at Mcd’s in a long time, but I do eat the ice cream from time to time.
Soft Twist (soft ice cream cone) is only 100yen!

Several McDonald’s Japan restaurants have Nintendo DS Hot Spots (wireless connection to the nintendo DS online network of awesomeness) and you can try out several (new) games, see the McDonald’s menu information (calories etc), and enjoy fun on your DS while stuffing your face with “american taste.”

Just last week, McD’s also opened a McBakery to compete with Starbucks.  You can read more about that via my homegirl Rebecca’s Trends in Japan online write up here. ( I got here the job!, well, told her about it..)

Oh my!
Look at this, its a robot dog that comes with the Happy Set (Happy Meal) and it dances to music.  I am going to McD’s tonight to buy a happy set – just to get this dog! I will then send it to my niece.

~ by gabuchan on July 25, 2008.

2 Responses to “McDonald’s Japan”

  1. Greetings,
    I happened across your blog while researching the fixed gear scene here in Tokyo. I’ve really enjoyed reading over your last half dozen posts or so. You’ve got some great photo’s of urban Japan, and I always enjoy hearing other foreigner’s experiences concerning the culture here. Keep up the great blog!
    -David

  2. Emery,
    Thanks for the comment! Glad that you are enjoying it. I really love blogging, and hope to get better at it.

Leave a Reply

 
